Everything You Need to Know About 'Self Registration'!


Everything You Need to Know About 'Self Registration'! 

In Brightidea, administrators are able to allow their users to self-register for their Brightidea site all by themselves!  This allows an easy and seamless process to get users into the system.  Here is how to to do it:

 

  • First, the administrator needs to allow their site to allow self-registration on either the Enterprise level or WebStorm level. 

On Enterprise level (including Domain Restriction)

  • To enable self-registration - make sure "Disable Self-Registration is unchecked under Enterprise Setup --> Site --> Registration
  • If the administrators wishes to restrict self-registration by email domain (i.e. only anyone with these email domains' can register successfully)  please add all email domains that are allowed to the domain list.
    • If enabled, any domain restrictions made will only allow users with those domain email addresses to:
      • Login
      • Self Register
      • Reset Password
  • Make sure to Save Changes.

 

On Challenge / WebStorm level (including Domain Restriction)

    • To enable self-registration - make sure "Which users do you want to allow to register? - is set to "Everyone" under WebStorm Setup --> Site --> Security

 

    • If the administrators wishes to restrict the WebStorm level self-registration by email domain (i.e. only anyone with these email domains' can register successfully)  please add all email domains that are allowed under WebStorm Setup --> Site --> Registration

 

    • If enabled, any domain restrictions made will only allow users with those domain email addresses to:

      • Login
      • Self Register
      • Reset Password
    • Make sure to Save all Changes.
    • Refer to this article regarding domain restriction for more information.
  • Please note: Self-Registration can be turned off at any time - by switching the Enterprise/WebStorm selections respectively.
  • Once everything is set - what happens is the following:
    • The user navigates to the Enterprise site (yourcompany.brightidea.com) or WebStorm site (yourcompany.brightidea.com/ideas)
    • User clicks "Register" - User will enter their email address and click "Submit"
    • A message will display: "Please check your email to continue registration."
    • User will need to go to retrieve the email sent.  Email message will say: "Please follow the link below to complete registration: https:________"
    • User will select the link from the email and be brought to a registration screen like this:                                                       

 

    • In the registration screen User will need to fill out screen name and password and any profile fields. 
    • User will accept terms and conditions (if applicable).
    • User will then select "Register" and be redirected into the site upon successful login.                
  • On WebStorm level there is an option named: "Default User Group for Self Registration"
    • If enabled, the default user group For self registration option will route all new users to this group upon registration. 
    • Self registration here means visiting the WebStorm for the first time.  For SSO, registration invitations, and self-registration, the user will be routed into this group upon registering.  
    • Administrators can find this option under WebStorm Setup --> Site --> Security
    • Make sure to select "Save Changes" when finished. 
  • When trying to register, and a user receives a "Registration Failed" - It could be one of the following reasons:

    • IP address is blocked
    • If the passwords is not correct
    • Domain/Groups restrictions are set.
    • If the user uses a different email address than the one they registered with.
  • Note: If "Strong Password Rules" option is enabled, the user must include set conditions for their password
Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Simplez Admin

    Exists as to block a user does not register after the campaign ended?

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    Hello there - 

    If you block a user, the user will not be able to register after a WebStorm ends, yes.  Does that answer your question?  

    Thank you.

    Best,

    Anthony

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Simplez Admin

    Indeed, as the users are self-registering, we can not block for everybody else to register?

    Thank you

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    You can block groups of people via group restriction - which will allow only those users allowed to enter.  

    See more info here:  http://support.brightidea.com/entries/346900-how-do-i-restrict-access-for-webstorm-to-a-group

    Thank you.

    Best,

    Anthony

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Simplez Admin

    We hadn't created a group at the beginning of the program. We can now create users and put all into it and then lock the group?

     

    Thank you

  • Avatar
    Ron Orlovetskiy

    Hello,

    Yes, you can create the group with the appropriate users and restrict the WebStorm.

    Thank you,

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Damian

    Is it possible anywhere to turn on a feature that means the user has to put in his or her email address twice, so confirm they are putting in the right one. This would be for registering and requesting new password.

  • Avatar
    Ron Orlovetskiy

    Hello Damian,

    Unfortunately, there is no such functionality in the software to require verification of user's email address.

    Thank you,

    Ron Orlovetskiy

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Damian

    Thanks Ron, it's a good idea though isn't it? Maybe you'd like to vote for it and ask colleagues who also think it a good idea to vote for it too?

    https://bi.brightidea.com/D10465

  • Avatar
    Damian

    Hi Ron

    I see the email check has been added to the registration page .. but not the 'forgot password' page. How easy would it be to get that??

  • Avatar
    Ron Orlovetskiy

    Hello Damian,

    That would require an enhancement to the software, such a request would need to be routed through our IdeaSpace.

    Thank you,

    Ron Orlovetskiy

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Damian

    Is the default registration group on registration at Enterprise level 'ALL'?

  • Avatar
    Ron Orlovetskiy

    Hi Damian,

    There are no group restrictions at the Enterprise level. In this case, it can be considered that registration is open to "All".

    Thank you,

    Brightidea Support

Powered by Zendesk