Important Note: This feature is only applicable to previous 'WebStorm Admin' back-end and is not available in 'Pipeline Management' at this time.
Everything You Need to Know about 'Merging Ideas'!
- First, the administrator must navigate to the WebStorm Admin area for the specific WebStorm:
- Highlight at least two ideas to merge (the administrator can select more than one) within WebStorm Admin
- Right mouse click or select "Actions" in top navigation to select "Merge Ideas"
- When the admin merges ideas, they have to select a "Parent" idea.
- Remember, the 'Parent' idea is the idea that the administrator is choosing to keep "alive" within Brightidea.
- The 'Child' idea will still exist but the Parent / Master idea will be used to continue on in the innovation program via Switchboard, etc.
- Once the admin selects the idea you wish to be a Parent, select 'Merge Ideas'
- Once that is selected, the admin will get a confirmation pop-up at the top of their screen in WebStorm Admin in green.
Post Idea Merge - What is visible to the end user?
- Now that two ideas have been merged, the idea submitter of the child idea (and any idea subscribers and/or babysitter) will receive an email notification noting their idea has been merged into another.
- The end user will see any merged ideas in the parent idea in their WebStorm idea list:
- The 'Child' idea will have a URL to the parent idea, and will not allow the user to vote or comment on that child idea.
- Commenting and voting will be disabled on all child ideas going forward after the merge.
- All pre-existing votes will still hold true on the child idea.
- Both ideas still exist for users.
- When merging ideas, the admin can select the "master" idea. On the "master" idea page, the merged idea will be reflected:
- If the user attempts to vote on the child idea, it will prompt the user with a message:
- For the end user, statistics stay the same.
- Votes for the Parent Idea will hold true, it will not take into account votes on the child idea(s).
- The child idea will be removed from the "Community Stats" widgets, as well as the View Ideas page for both administrators and end users.
- Administrators and/or end users cannot vote on child ideas
Post Idea Merge - What is visible to the administrator?
- For the administrator, when ideas are merged - the master idea and child ideas are present in the WebStorm Admin grid.
- The link to the merged Idea in the WebStorm Admin ideas grid will be gray
- Please also note new column's for 'Merged' and 'Merged With' to note the Parent and Child idea(s)
- In the WebStorm Admin grid, when merged ideas are selected with a group of ideas, the "Merge Ideas" option will be grayed out as these ideas have already been merged.
What happens to the idea votes/score?
- Under WebStorm Admin --> Setup --> General --> Options > Idea Merge option, there are two options that are available in regards to how the child idea's votes are handled:
'Add Child Idea Votes / Chips to Master Idea' Option
- When "Add child idea votes/chips to master idea" is selected and two (or more) ideas are merged, the total vote count for merged parent will be aggregated.
IDEA A (parent) has 3 total votes (+4, -1)
IDEA B (child) has -2 total votes (+2, -4)
IDEA A (merged) has 1 total vote
Votes for child ideas will remain unchanged
'Keep Idea Votes / Chips Separate' Option
- When two ideas are merged, the votes for parent and child idea will remain unchanged.
Important Things to Note!
- Administrators cannot "un-merge" an idea - all merging is final.
- However, if the parent idea is deleted, the merged child idea(s) will become un-merged and appear as normal independent ideas.
- Changing 'Parent Idea'
- Administrators cannot change the parent idea as well.
- Status Changing
- Changing status of parent idea will not change the status of child ideas.
- Both the parent and child ideas will still exist in WebStorm / Enterprise Setup reports and WebStorm level Dashboard
- The child idea will be able to be accessed from search, the master idea, the submitter's profile, or any email links for both administrators and end users.