What is a 'Private Project' in Project Management?
- Private projects are now available in Pipeline as a beta feature, so admins' innovation councils can run a project behind closed doors. By default, all projects created in Pipeline are public, so having this option is now available to Brightidea administrators. Here is how to get started:
Turning on Private Projects
- First, a Brightidea representative must enable the option our end.
- Please contact a Brightidea representative to do this.
- Once that is complete, navigate to the project, and select "Options" on the bottom right corner
- Once there, please select "Private Project"
- The administrator then has to select one of the following two options:
- Restrict all access to project team = Only users in project team have access to anything around the project (updates, access, emails, etc.)
- Note: When a project is private with "restrict all access," the project no longer appears in search results for users who are not in the project team.
- Allow users to view and request access = Users will see the project in widgets, and can request access.
- If this is enabled, users who are not on the project team may request to join the team via the project wall.
- The user selects "Request to Join" and the project owner will receive an email to let him/her know that someone is requesting access.
- The email that gets triggered is located in Enterprise Setup ---> Site ---> System Email Messages ---> Pipeline ---> Request to join Project
- The project owner will then navigate to the project to add the user.
- When a private project is initiated, the project operates as it would as if it were public.
- However, only the project owner, system administrator, and project team members will have access to see any content, or make any updates.
- Also notice a "Private" header is added next to the project in Pipeline
New Pipeline Column
- When the option is ENABLED the feature appears as below; also, there will be a new column added to the Pipeline Projects grid (added automatically to the end of the grid) named "Visibility:
- This column will have two values: Private and Public
- Projects will all be Public by default; they will become Private when Private Project option is enabled
- This column should be sortable and filterable
- When the option of "Private Project" is disabled, the column will remove itself.