Everything You Need to Know About 'Blog Subscriptions'!


 

Everything You Need to Know About 'Blog Subscriptions'!

 

Blogs can be viewed and subscribed by anyone.  However, they must have an account within Brightidea.  If a user is subscribed to a blog, an email will be sent to them when a new blog post has been submitted in the WebStorm. The user willl not receive an email if there are comments made to those blog posts.  Refer to the following for more information:

 

How a User can Subscribe to the Blog

  • If a user wishes to manually subscribe to a blog - they can select the "subscribe" option on the top right of the blog post:
 
344.png
 
  • The user can also "unsubscribe" by selecting the same link.

Pre-Subscribing Users to a Blog

    • As an administrator, navigate to: WebStorm Setup ---> Site ---> Blog ---> "Subscribe User to Blog on Registration"
      • The user will then be pre-subscribed to the blog once they register for the WebStorm.  This will only work for new users.

686.png

 

How to Add a User to be Subscribed to the Blog

  • As an administrator, navigate to: WebStorm Setup --> Site --> Blog ---> "Manage Blog Subscriptions"
  • Under the "Manage Blog Subscriptions" section, enter in email or screen name of the user.
    • Type name of user and click 'Add Member' to add them to the subscribed list.
    • Once subscribed, the user(s) will receive emails.
      • If any users are not subscribed, then they will not receive emails on new posts to the blog.  
223.png

Viewing Who is Subscribed

  • As an administrator, Navigate to: WebStorm Setup --->Site ---> Blog
  • Select  'Get Current Subscribers' list.
  • Once there, the administrator can see who is subscribed to the WebStorm level blog - and WebStorm / System administrator can remove subscribers accordingly if need be.
213.png

 

Important Things to Note:

  • As of now, we do not have Enterprise blog subscription settings like we do on the WebStorm level.  
    • However, for Enterprise users, if a user already has a user account due to activity on "WebStorm A",  that user will also inherit the blog subscription on a newly created "WebStorm B" if "Subscribe User to Blog Upon Registration" option is checked. 
    • Users must subscribe to the individual WebStorm level blogs. 
      • There is no Enterprise subscription setting at this time.  Read more about Enterprise level blogs here.
  • Please note: There is no mass subscription or 'import'  feature at this time
    • The administrator can also add users manually via "Manage Blog Subscriptions"
  • There is no export available for blog subscribers
  • Once users are subscribed to blogs, the system will trigger the "New Blog Post" email template:
121.png
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Jorge S

    Anthony,

    Can we have this on a Enterprise Blog?

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    Unfortunately no, since Enterprise blog is made up of all descending WebStorm blogs....

  • Avatar
    Jorge S

    Enterprise blog is made up of descending WS blogs if you have them.

    In some cases we do not use it. Moreover, you can create custom subjects/themes in the Enterprise blog.

    I just asked if this was available for Enterprise Blog, because in some cases the users register directly using the Enterprise Page.

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    I see - yes unfortunately your use case may need some analysis by your Brightidea representative, they can most likely point you in the right direction if need be to discuss any potential enhancement.

  • Avatar
    Andre St-Martin

    what if we do not have blog enabled at start of campaign, users login in - register

    (and the option in blog, Subscribe User to Blog on Registration is checked from start),

    when we later turn on the blog, during the campaign, would previously users be subscribed to new blog posting, or only the one registering from that point on?

  • Avatar
    Ron Orlovetskiy

    If the option is disabled initially and then enabled at a later point, those users who registered while it was disabled will not be subscribed after option is enabled.

Powered by Zendesk