Enable Promote Reason and Enable Demote Reason are features that allow administrators to see more clearly why their users vote positively or negatively.
- To enable, navigate to WebStorm Setup --> Ideas --> Voting
- The administrator can select to enable either (or both) reasons for voting.
- Once enabled, on the idea where the user is voting on - they will see the option to enter the reason as to why they are promoting or demoting an idea. See below screenshot:
- The voter can then select "Promote" to enter in their reason and register their vote.
- They can also select "Cancel" if they wish to cancel their vote.
- Once their vote is registered - their reason shows up in the "Votes" tab of the idea within the vote history:
- If the user attempts to vote without putting in a reason for promoting and/or demoting - the box around their reason will highlight red:
Important things to Note:
- The promote/demote reasons only show on the individual ideas at this time.
- There is a 250 character limit for reasons.
- This feature is only available on the WebStorm level.
- The reasons are visible to all users.
- If the idea is hidden - then these reasons will also be hidden.
- If Hide Idea History is enabled - these reasons will also be hidden.
- "Clear Vote" option will remove the user's vote reason - it cannot be reverted.
- Voting in the opposite direction will clear their original vote reason as well.