Blocking and Deleting users in Brightidea


How to Block a User:

  • To "block" means you wish to keep your users statistics intact - this is in regards with votes, ideas submissions, and all activity.  
  • Navigate to Enterprise Setup > Users > Manage
  • Conduct a search for your respective user.
  • Once their basic profile comes up, select "Block User" to the right.
  • This can be undone by re-selecting the same box to "unblock" them - allowing the user to log back in to the system. 
 
111.png

To Permanently Delete a User:

  • To delete a user means that you wish to completely remove a user - including all of their activity (ideas, comments, etc.) from Brightidea
  • Select Users > Manage
  • Conduct a search for your respective user.
  • Once their basic profile comes up, select "Delete User" on the right.
  • Please Note: This cannot be reverted - all deletions are final. 
 
3215.png
Was this article helpful?
4 out of 4 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Jorge S

    When you block a user does he/she becomes invisible?

    Thanks guys!

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    In a sense yes, they will not have access to login - but any previously submitted ideas will still have his or her name.  Their record and stats are still kept within the system.

  • Avatar
    Patrick.Gohier

    So, when a user is blocked, is their license freed or would they need to be deleted?

  • Avatar
    Graham.Duncan

    Looking forward to the answer to Patrick's question - for example if/when individuals leave our organisation; we want to keep their history so "blocking" is the right option, but it would be good if they no longer counted towards our total number of licences.

  • Avatar
    Claus Abildgren

    @Patrick and @Graham - deactivated users do not count towards licensed user count.

     

    Thanks,

    Claus

    VP Sales

  • Avatar
    Graham.Duncan

    Claus - thanks for the answer. Good to hear that common sense prevails!

  • Avatar
    Luca Volterrani

    Can a user cancel his/her account by his/her own?
    That would be quite important for public initiatives.

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Luca,

    It's not possible for end user to delete their account, only administrator can do such action.

    Thanks,
    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Karen McCauley

    Is the only way a user can be 'blocked' is through the method above?

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Hi Karen,

    Yes, that is correct, this is the only standard way to block users in Brightidea. The only other possibility is if you work/worked with our Technical Services team to scope something custom in regards to blocking users (e.g. a mass user block).

    Best,
    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Karen McCauley

    so super crazy … because we have nearly 4,500 blocked users right now (Yikes!). is there a way to 'unblock' in a group rather than 1 by 1?

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Hi Karen,

    There is no way to mass unblock users in Brightidea. Only method to unblocking users is what is mentioned in this article.

    If that many users need to be unblocked at once, it would require custom Technical Services scoping with our team or if you have developers on your side, they can utilize our public API to write their own code for this purpose.

    https://developer.brightidea.com/_documentation

    Best,
    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Karen McCauley

    Hi Ron - If we did engage Brightidea any idea of turn-a-round time and cost?

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Hi Karen,

    This is something that would need to be scoped out with our Technical Team, they would be able to provide the time and cost. p

    Please reach out to your Brightidea Account Manager if you are interested with moving forward on this request.

    Best,
    Brightidea Support

Powered by Zendesk