'User Import' functionality in Brightidea


The Brightidea 'User Import' feature will make the import process of your users very simple and easy.

Please navigate to Enterprise Setup --> Users --> User Import:


1.png

 

How to import users:

  • First, we need the default template to fill out.  Download the template into Excel and make sure everything is correct.
    • Please check that email and screen name are confirmed!
    • Please remove all spaces and special characters from email addresses field.
  • Confirm the settings of the Excel template. 
    • Make sure the administrator saves a .xls file
    • See screenshot of a sample .xls template:

 

2.png

 

  • Save the file to desktop
    • Select Upload File and select the recently saved file.
    • Once selected, the User Import will automatically scan the import and give the administrator a preview before finalizing the import:
3.jpg

 

  • Select "Import Users" to complete!
  • The administrator will receive a popup status and verification when all set.
4.jpg

 

Important things to Note:

  • Additional Profile Fields can be imported via User Import
  • Administrators can upload profile images within the User Import.
    • In the template, there is a column for 'Profile Photo URL'.
5.png
    • The administrator can enter in a publicly accessible URL that leads to the respective users' photo
    • This photo cannot be an internal URL from your organization if it requires authentication to view.
      • If the administrator does not want any photos to imported, please leave all cells empty.
    • The Import Wizard will prompt the administrator if it finds duplicate emails already in the system or error'ed email addresses.
    • Brightidea recommends no more than 500 rows per each import to alleviate any delay into importing.
    • No emails or triggers are sent to anyone - once users are imported.                                              
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Laura Frisby

    After importing users, is there an email generated to those users to create a password or letting them know they are now in the platform?

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    Hi Laura - no emails are sent from the import.  

    Best,

    Anthony

  • Avatar
    May Kammoona

    Hi, I have a couple of questions I'd appreciate your help with.

    1- Can I create a group with all the imported users right after importing them or do they have to log-in first?

    2- If the users are not notified when they are imported, what's their log in process going to be like? (i.e., how can they sign in, what's their first password, and will they be prompted to change their password when they're logged in?)

    Thank you.

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    1- Can I create a group with all the imported users right after importing them or do they have to log-in first?

    Answer: Yes, you can.  You can put users into a group at any time.

    2- If the users are not notified when they are imported, what's their log in process going to be like? (i.e., how can they sign in, what's their first password, and will they be prompted to change their password when they're logged in?

    Answer:  User Import is designed so that if a company has lots of information they want to attach to each of their employees, they can import all that in.  What happens though when you conduct a user import is that the email and record exists in the system, but there is no set password.  Once the user attempts to register for the first time, they will need to set their password via the login page and email verification.  

    Customers have gone the route of label changing their "forgot your password?" link on their Enterprise or WebStorm login page to "Click here to generate your password" or "First time users click here" so that when the user comes to the Brightidea for the first time, they select that option, enter in their email, it generates an email to the user, they get another link to set their password, they set that, then they are in.  Once they are in, all the information you imported for them shows up in their profile, etc.  They only have to set their password once. So rather doing straight self-registration where the system has no record of the user prior to them attempting to register, here you set up all their information first, then they have to do one verification action to set their password and login. 

    If you have further questions, please feel free to submit a ticket to us - hope this helps you!

    Best,

    Anthony

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Ganesh.Laxminarayan

    If you're using SSO, can you still use this feature to bulk load users? Once loaded, will the users be able to login using SSO?

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Hi Ganesh,

    Yes, you can use this. However, there needs to be some extra caution when using SSO, if you import an account with Email X and UID Y and SSO passes a different Email or UID for that user, it will create a duplicate record.

    Typically, we recommend just having SSO create all accounts on user login.

    Thanks,
    Brightidea Support

Powered by Zendesk