Understanding 'Groups' in Brightidea


Groups are available to administrators in the Brightidea system to restrict access to Sites across the Brightidea system.  Perhaps the administrator wants to group restrict a Site to a specific set of users in the organization so that it is a privately collaborated space.  This article reviews a lot of the questions that come up with groups - so please refer to the following:


Creating / Deleting a Group

  • Administrators can make new groups or add users to existing groups by searching for screen name or email.
  • Navigate to: Enterprise Setup > Users > Groups
  • To create a group, please enter in the Group name and select "Create Group"
Screen_Shot_2019-05-23_at_2.23.04_PM.png
  • Once created, the administrator can select the group title to add new users to the group by searching for screen name or email
  • No emails are triggered if a user is added or removed from a group
  • The administrator can select the red 'x' next to the title of the group, to delete the group.
    • Note: Deleting a group will not delete any users in the group, only the group itself.
Screen_Shot_2019-05-23_at_2.28.53_PM.png
 

Editing a Group

  • Within the same tab - the system administrator can:
    • Select "Show All Groups" to generate a full list of groups to edit
    • Search for the group name where it says "Search for groups"
  • Once the group is selected, the administrator can just select the pencil icon next to the group name
Screen_Shot_2019-05-23_at_2.30.33_PM.png

 

  • The administrator can then edit the group name and select "Save"
Screen_Shot_2019-05-23_at_2.53.01_PM.png
  • The administrator can also add new users if he/she needs to by searching for a user and selecting 'Add Member'.
Screen_Shot_2019-05-23_at_3.35.46_PM.png
  • Select the "red X" icon is used to remove a user from a group.
Screen_Shot_2019-05-23_at_2.56.16_PM.png
 
  • If an administrator searches for a user and that user is already in the group, they can choose to 'Remove Member' when they are searched for and selected.
    • Note that a group must have at least 200 members before pagination will occur.
    • The administrator can scroll through the groups' members by selecting the bottom pagination choices.  
Screen_Shot_2019-05-23_at_3.38.15_PM.png
 

Conducting a Group Import

  • Administrators can import multiple existing users at once into a group or many groups instead of manually adding one by one.
  • Please refer to this article to find out more.
 

Restricting a Site to Group(s)

Exporting Groups / Group Members

  • Group exports are available in Enterprise setup. Please see the article here for more information.

Group Restriction & Ripple Effects:

  • If the admin has an Enterprise homepage with users posting updates, please be aware of group restriction within updating.
    • Users will only see updates of Sites that they are a part of.  (i.e. they must be a member in the group(s) appended to the Site.)
    • For example, if User A (who is a part of Site A), and user B who is part of Site B both log into Enterprise homepage and update on the Enterprise homepage, they will not see each other's updates.
  • If a user attempts to log into a Site they do not have access to (via group restriction) - the user will receive a "Login Failed" error message
  • All Enterprise widgets respect group restriction in regards to the activity within those restricted Sites.
 

Groups vs. Communities

  • Communities are not restricted by groups, therefore all end users have access to these pages if presented in the system.
  • If the admin group-restricts a Site within a community, then it will abide to those restrictions in community.
  • Think of a community landing page as another Enterprise landing page that has its group restrictions as well.
 

Enterprise Blog & Group Restriction

  • Please be aware that if the admin is using Enterprise Blog, it inherits group permission per Site campaign.
  • Therefore - any blog post that is restricted to a Site group will show up "invalid" for users not in the group trying to access.  
 

Resetting Points for Users in a Group

  • Administrators can reset reputation points earned to users in a specific group.
  • Refer to this article to find out more.
Was this article helpful?
4 out of 4 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    mfairbanks

    great article, lots of information and very helpful!   thanks!

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    No problem, Michelle!  Anytime.