Understanding 'Groups' in Brightidea


Groups are available to administrators in the Brightidea system to restrict access to WebStorms across the Brightidea system.  Perhaps the administrator wants to group restrict a WebStorm to a specific set of users in the organization so that it is a privately collaborated space.  This article reviews a lot of the questions that come up with groups - so please refer to the following:

 

Creating / Deleting a Group

  • Administrators can make new groups or add users to existing groups by searching for screen name or email.  
  • Navigate to: Enterprise Setup --> Users --> Groups
  • To create a group, please enter in the Group name and select "Create Group"

 

  • Once created, the administrator can select the group title to add new users to the group by searching for screen name or email
  • No emails are triggered if a user is added or removed from a group
  • The administrator can select the red 'x' next to the title of the group, to delete the group.
    • Note: Deleting a group will not delete any users in the group, only the group itself.
 

Editing a Group

  • Within the same tab - the system administrator can:
    • Select "Show All Groups" to generate a full list of groups to edit
    • Search for the group name where it says "Search for groups"
  • Once the group is selected, the administrator can just select the pencil icon next to the group name

 

  • The administrator can then edit the group name and select "Save"
 
 
  • Select the "red X" icon is used to remove a user from a group.
 

 

  • The administrator can also add new users if he/she needs to by searching for a user and selecting 'Add Member'.
 
  • If an administrator searches for a user and that user is already in the group, they can choose to 'Remove Member' when they are searched for and selected.
    • The administrator can scroll through the groups' members by selecting the bottom pagination choices.  
      • Note that a group must have at least 200 members before pagination will occur.
 

Conducting a Group Import

  • Administrators can import multiple existing users at once into a group or many groups instead of manually adding one by one.
  • Please refer to this article to find out more.
 

Restricting a WebStorm to Group(s)

  • Once users are set in groups - the administrator can assign those groups to WebStorms to lock down the audience and access for that WebStorm.
  • Navigate to: Enterprise Setup --> WebStorms---> Manage WebStorms
  • Select the WebStorm to append the group(s) to in the dropdown.
 
 
  • Once that is selected, the administrator can search for a respective group or select "ALL" and find the one they are looking for.
  • Once the admin has the group(s) selected, select the ">>" button so it is added under the "Assigned Groups" screen.
  • Once all set, select "Save Changes"
    • Please Note: Only members of these groups (who do not have action items assigned in 'Pipeline Management') will have access to this WebStorm - even System or WebStorm Administrators - need to be in those groups.
  • Important Note: If a user has an action item assigned in 'Pipeline Management', they will be able to access the WebStorm regardless of group restrictions.
      • The reason for this is so they can access and complete their action items associated with ideas in the WebStorm.
 
 
  • Administrators can easily remove a group by moving back to the left side.
  • If we select the red "ALL" hyperlink on the left, it will show all available groups on the left, and all assigned groups on the right.
    • This "ALL" group cannot be deleted.
  • The administrator can also search for his/her group they just created / imported into.
    • The administrator can add as many groups as needed.  
    • If the administrator selects the "ALL" group to the WebStorm selection - the administrator is saying he/she wants all Brightidea users to have access.

    • This "ALL" group is put here by default and incorporates everyone in the Brightidea system
  • Once listed and highlighted, if the admin select, DELETE SELECTED, this will delete all groups if highlighted.  
  • The administrator will be promoted with a confirmation popup.  
    • If the admin wishes to remove the groups from the WebStorm, please move them over to the right hand panel and select REMOVE SELECTED.
  • Remember to Save Changes!

Exporting Groups / Group Members

  • Group exports are available in Enterprise setup. Please see the article here for more information.

Group Restriction & Ripple Effects:

  • If the admin has an Enterprise homepage with users posting updates, please be aware of group restriction within updating.
    • Users will only see updates of WebStorms that they are a part of.  (i.e. they must be a member in the group(s) appended to the WebStorm.) 
    • For example, if User A (who is a part of WebStorm A), and user B who is part of WebStorm B both log into Enterprise homepage and update on the Enterprise homepage, they will not see each other's updates.
  • If a user attempts to log into a WebStorm they do not have access to (via group restriction) - the user will receive a "Login Failed" error message
  • All Enterprise widgets respect group restriction in regards to the activity within those restricted WebStorms.
 

Groups vs. Communities

  • Communities are not restricted by groups, therefore all end users have access to these pages if presented in the system.  
  • If the admin group-restricts a WebStorm within a community, then it will abide to those restrictions in community.  
  • Think of a community landing page as another Enterprise landing page that has its group restrictions as well.  
 

Enterprise Blog & Group Restriction

  • Please be aware that if the admin is using Enterprise Blog, it inherits group permission per WebStorm campaign.
  • Therefore - any blog post that is restricted to a WebStorm group will show up "invalid" for users not in the group trying to access.  
 

Resetting Points for Users in a Group

  • Administrators can reset reputation points earned to users in a specific group.
  • Refer to this article to find out more.
Was this article helpful?
4 out of 4 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Michelle Fairbanks

    great article, lots of information and very helpful!   thanks!

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    No problem, Michelle!  Anytime.

Powered by Zendesk