"Move/Copy Idea" feature in Pipeline


Moving and Copying Submissions from one Pipeline to another helps Admins organize innovations successfully. Our Move / Copy wizard can handle up to 500 ideas at a time which is great when large batches of ideas need to be organized (And it's quick too). Let's dive a bit deeper on how these features work.

We have an updated interface for this feature in which Admins can enable by going to Enterprise Setup > Beta tab. Enable the option that says "Move and Copy Ideas Update".

Move Ideas

The easiest way to move Submissions across Pipelines is through the List View or the Step View of the Pipeline.

Screen_Shot_2020-04-26_at_7.40.57_PM.png

As shown above, Admins will need to highlight the number of Submissions they are managing, and click into the Actions dropdown towards top-left corner. A number indicator will appear at the top informing the Admin of how many Ideas they have selected.

Screen_Shot_2020-04-26_at_10.38.57_PM.png

Click on the item labeled for "Move Ideas". Note: "Ideas" may be labeled something different if set by Admins. Once selected, a dialog box will appear asking Admins which Pipeline to Move into.

Screen_Shot_2020-04-26_at_7.47.22_PM.png

Once a Pipeline is chosen, Admins will see two additional dropdown fields appear, one for Category and one for Status.

Screen_Shot_2020-04-26_at_8.05.11_PM.png

Admins will also see two additional checkbox options:

  • First option Append extra submission questions and/or additional info fields to the Description if the questions do not match. If this option is disabled, these questions will not be appended. 
  • Second option is to Notify submitters. This will send an in-system notification to the Submitter notifying of their Idea(s) that was Moved.

Once Submissions have been successfully moved, you will see a prompt noting of completion. 

Screen_Shot_2020-04-26_at_8.23.12_PM.png

Copy Ideas

Similar to Move Ideas, Copy Ideas can be easily done through List View and/or Step View of a Pipeline.

Admins will highlight the number of Submissions they wish to Copy, and choose Copy Ideas from the Actions dropdown.

Screen_Shot_2020-04-26_at_8.27.03_PM.png

Admins will however see slightly different set of options when Copying. The first dropdown field will allow Admins to choose which Pipeline to Copy into, including the active pipeline.

  • However, Admins wont be able to set a category or status at this time. The copied idea(s) will inherit the default category and status from its new Pipeline.

Below the dropdown field will show several checkbox options.

Screen_Shot_2020-04-26_at_8.33.49_PM.png

  • First option Append extra submission questions and/or additional info fields to the Description if the questions do not match. If this option is disabled, these questions will not be appended. 
  • Second option is to Notify submitters. This will send an in-system notification to the Submitter notifying of their Idea(s) that was Copied.
  • Third option is to copy the Comments from the original Submission over to the newly created Submission.
  • Fourth option is to copy over the same number of Votes.
  • Fifth option is to duplicate any Attachments that have been uploaded into the original Submission into the new Submission.
  • Sixth option is to link the original idea with its copy. If multiple ideas are selected, each idea will be linked to its corresponding copy. Linked idea notifications, if enabled, will not be sent when this option is selected since the idea is a copy of itself and the submitter is the same for both ideas. 

Once Admins are content with Copy options, hitting the Copy button will then run the wizard. On completion, Admins will see the dialog box finish running.

Screen_Shot_2020-04-26_at_8.43.47_PM.png

 

Move / Copy for Development Fields

As of the Spring 2021 release, Development field data will now also be included when Moving or Copying ideas. If Development fields between your original and destination Pipeline match, any completed Development field data will be included.

If there are missing Development fields in the destination Pipeline, there will be an additional popup, allowing you to choose what to do with the missing fields.

Missing-Development-Fields-popup.png

If you select to add missing Development fields, any unmatched Development fields from your original Pipeline will be duplicated to the destination Pipeline. If you choose to continue without duplicating the missing Development fields, the ideas will be moved or copied, and the missing Development field data will not be brought with the ideas to the destination Pipeline.

 

Move / Copy with Rules Engine

The Move and Copy functionality is also supported by our Rules Engine. Instead of manually selecting large batches of Submissions and moving them or copying them across your affiliate, Admins can automate these actions when triggers and conditions are met. For more information on how our Rules Engine works, see here.

When setting up a Rule, within the Actions section of the configuration screen, there will be an option to “Move Idea to Pipeline” or “Copy Idea to Pipeline”. Selecting either option will display an additional configuration box that needs to be set in order to Save the Rule. 

Screen_Shot_2020-12-15_at_4.35.59_PM.png

Clicking into the configuration screen for “Move Idea to Pipeline” will bring up options to Select a Pipeline to Move the Idea into, Append extra questions to the Submission description, and Notify the Submitters that their Submission has Moved Pipelines.

If all selected Submissions share the same Category/Status, and the same Category/Status exists in the selected Pipeline, it will automatically be selected by default.

Clicking into the configuration screen for “Copy Idea to Pipeline” will bring up similar options as “Move Idea…”, along with additional options for Copying Votes, Copying Comments, Copying Attachments, and Appending Additional Info fields.

The email notification can be edited and turned on/off by default in the Pipeline Setup. Notifications will go to all members of the Submission Team. At this time, there is no notification for Copy Idea, only for Move Idea.

A few things to be aware of:

  • Submissions can only be moved once per rule, but they can be copied multiple times
  • If an admin does not have access to the selected pipeline, they will see a warning before editing the rule
  • History events will be attributed to “Rules Engine”
  • Move and copy actions will be included in Rules Engine > Export History

Important Things to Note:

  • Moving an idea into a new Pipeline will cancel the Action Items and delete the Evaluations from the previous Pipeline. Attempting to move the Submission back to the original Pipeline WILL NOT restore the action items/evaluation data.
  • The Move and Copy wizards can run up to 500 Submissions at this time. Batches larger than this size are recommended to be broken up in to chunks to avoid any issues.
  • Move/Copy can still be used when applying filters to List View.
  • Admins can navigate away from the move/copy wizard and it will still operate in the background.
  • Submission date of the newly copied idea will be the date of when the idea was copied.
  • Moved/Copied Ideas will show a timestamp when they were moved/copied in the History tab on View Idea page.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Damian Dugdale

    Can Webstorm Admin copy ideas to any other Webstorm on the platform, or other community?

  • Avatar
    Damian Dugdale

    Or is it only to Webstorms that they are a Webstorm admin for?

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Hi Damian,

    Correct, this would only be for WebStorms that they have administrator access to.

    Thank you,

    Brightidea Support