Enabling 'Self Registration' for your Users


In Brightidea, Admins are able to allow new Users to self-register all by themselves! This is another option for Admins that prefer to allow any number of Users to create their own accounts. Here is how to do it:

Screen_Shot_2020-07-26_at_8.25.14_AM.png
 

At the Enterprise level

To enable Self-Registration make sure "Disable Self-Registration" is unchecked under Enterprise Setup > Access > Registration

Screen_Shot_2020-07-26_at_8.32.25_AM.png

Admins will also need to enable the Login page and Registration link for this Initiative by going to Enterprise Setup > Access > Authentication. This will make sure that all new Users are directed to a Login page and have access to Register when they navigate to the Enterprise URL for the first time.

Screen_Shot_2020-07-26_at_10.21.22_AM.png

If Admins wish to "Restrict Self-Registration by Email Domain" at the Enterprise level (i.e. only Users with certain email domains can register/access successfully) please add all email domains that are allowed to the domain list. For more on domain restrictions, please see our support article here

At the Initiative level 

To enable self-registration - make sure "Which users do you want to allow to register? - is set to "Everyone" under Site Setup > Access > Security

Screen_Shot_2020-07-26_at_10.15.02_AM.png

Admins will also need to enable the Login page and Registration link for this Initiative by going to Site Setup > Access > Authentication. This will make sure that all new Users are directed to a Login page and have access to Register when they navigate to the Initiative URL for the first time.

Screen_Shot_2020-07-26_at_10.18.26_AM.png

If Admins wish to "Restrict Self-Registration by Email Domain at the Initiative level (i.e. only Users with certain email domains can register/access successfully) please add all email domains that are allowed to the domain list. For more on domain restrictions, please see our support article here

Additional Options to consider at Initiative level

Unified Login page: Within each Initiative, there is an option to enable/disable the Unified Login page. This may cause conflict when registering if there are domain restrictions set at certain levels of your Brightidea. Please review this article for more information on this feature.

Default User Group for Self Registration: Within each Initiative, there is an option to enable/disable Default User Group for Self Registration. This feature allows all new Users to be automatically added to an assigned Group when they access the Initiative for the first time. Please review this article for more information on this feature.

User Experience when Registering

With Self-Registration enabled, new Users that navigate to the Enterprise URL (yourcompany.brightidea.com) or Initiative URL (yourcompany.brightidea.com/ideas) will be directed through the registration process. When they see the Login page, they will need to Register a new account.

Screen_Shot_2020-07-26_at_10.32.20_AM.png

They will then need to fill in their basic information (email address, first name, last name) and click Register.

Screen_Shot_2020-07-26_at_10.33.21_AM.png

This will prompt them to check the email they registered with so they can continue creating their account. Once the new User locates the email in their inbox, there will be a registration link that will navigate them back to Brightidea so they can fill in the rest of their information.

Screen_Shot_2020-07-26_at_10.36.15_AM.png

In the registration screen User will need to fill out screen name and password and any profile fields. The new User may also need to accept Terms and Conditions (if applicable). This will then complete the Registration for the User and they will be redirected into your Brightidea. 

Additional Notes regarding Failed Attempts

If a new User attempts to register and they experience a "Registration Failed" message, please consider the following:

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    brightidea

    Exists as to block a user does not register after the campaign ended?

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    Hello there - 

    If you block a user, the user will not be able to register after a WebStorm ends, yes.  Does that answer your question?  

    Thank you.

    Best,

    Anthony

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    brightidea

    Indeed, as the users are self-registering, we can not block for everybody else to register?

    Thank you

  • Avatar
    Anthony Madama

    You can block groups of people via group restriction - which will allow only those users allowed to enter.  

    See more info here:  http://support.brightidea.com/entries/346900-how-do-i-restrict-access-for-webstorm-to-a-group

    Thank you.

    Best,

    Anthony

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    brightidea

    We hadn't created a group at the beginning of the program. We can now create users and put all into it and then lock the group?

     

    Thank you

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Hello,

    Yes, you can create the group with the appropriate users and restrict the WebStorm.

    Thank you,

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Damian Dugdale

    Is it possible anywhere to turn on a feature that means the user has to put in his or her email address twice, so confirm they are putting in the right one. This would be for registering and requesting new password.

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Hello Damian,

    Unfortunately, there is no such functionality in the software to require verification of user's email address.

    Thank you,

    Ron Orlovetskiy

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Damian Dugdale

    Thanks Ron, it's a good idea though isn't it? Maybe you'd like to vote for it and ask colleagues who also think it a good idea to vote for it too?

    https://bi.brightidea.com/D10465

  • Avatar
    Damian Dugdale

    Hi Ron

    I see the email check has been added to the registration page .. but not the 'forgot password' page. How easy would it be to get that??

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Hello Damian,

    That would require an enhancement to the software, such a request would need to be routed through our IdeaSpace.

    Thank you,

    Ron Orlovetskiy

    Brightidea Support

  • Avatar
    Damian Dugdale

    Is the default registration group on registration at Enterprise level 'ALL'?

  • Avatar
    Ron

    Hi Damian,

    There are no group restrictions at the Enterprise level. In this case, it can be considered that registration is open to "All".

    Thank you,

    Brightidea Support